Illegal Giveaway Event Warning

Posted On: May 14, 2008
Posted In: Life and Random Stuff, Marketing Tips
Comments: No Responses

I’m on Guido Nussbaum’s mailing list, and he sent this warning out today. I only posted part of the story so go to his website for the full story. Basically, there is a hacker/scam artist running around the IM community, here is a little bit of what Guido reported.

Illegal Giveaway Event Warning

Unfortunately we are currently dealing with a hacker and scammer inside the internet marketing scene. This guy is best known as Daniel Armstrong and he has stolen 2 of our scripts including the Giveaway Manager 2. Now he runs an illegal giveaway event with that at: http://jokeboxgiveaway.com/contributor.php

What’s going on?

Let’s begin with the explaination on what this person gave us after asking him about the unusual activity that we have spotted in our system.

Mr Daniel Armstrong receives an email from Michel Gerrard [giveawaypromoter@googlemail.com] telling him that he can get the Giveaway Manager 2 and the Giveaway Announcer Pro at a special discount. Mr. Gerrard sends Mr. Armstrong an email with an attached HTML file that holds 4 paypal buttons. The first button is an encrypted button for $97 that goes to givewaypromoter@googlemail as the paypal seller. The other 3 buttons are work-arounds with 5 cent payments (or similar low) that go to my (or my partners) email account (redirecting to the download page).

So Mr. Armstrong takes this special deal and pays the required amount through each of the 4 buttons. The payments show up in our database from the persons pasted below.

Richard Hulston info@ebooksgalore-hosting.co.uk

Denise Bayliss dtbayliss@hotmail.co.uk

The member in our database who gets these upsales has registered as pasted below.

Nutty Keith nuttykeith@googlemail.com

So as you can see, Mr. Armstrong must have used 2 different paypal accounts to make the payments. He has also signed up with a different name and email address at our website.

We have done some more research about the domains he owns and the names he has used to register these domains. We have sent him an email to explain where these weired payments come from and he replied with the above story. The email he replied from comes as pasted below.

http://www.easy-viral-traffic.com/blog/index.php/illegal-giveaway-event-warning/

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!
  • Share/Bookmark

Most Commented Posts

Leave a Reply

Become a Joeville citizen, subscribe to the news.

Security Code:

Powered by Aweber Wordpress Plugin